what’s playing now

      Lisa Flynn's New Releases

      March 14, 2017

      Elgar: Symphony No 2 in E-flat, Op 63: First movement (19:14)

      Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra / Vasily Petrenko

      Elgar’s Second Symphony was given a chilly reception at its premiere in 1911. More emotionally ambiguous than the First Symphony, the Second seems to sense the apocalyptic events that would be unleashed just three years on. Vasily Petrenko and the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra continue to delve into Elgar’s music with a moving reading of this complex work.

      VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Click stars to rate:
      Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
      Vasily Petrenko: Elgar's Second Symphony, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating

      You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.