what’s playing now

      Lisa Flynn's New Releases

      August 24, 2014

      Fibich: Othello, Op 6 (16:59)

      Czech National Symphony Orchestra / Marek Štilec

      Less well-known than his compatriots Dvořák and Smetana, Zdenĕk Fibich was one of the great Czech composers of his day. These symphonic poems span the best part of his career, starting with Othello, which emphasizes the intertwined fates of Shakespeare’s main characters. More nationalist in character, Záboj, Slavoj and Luděk impressed Smetana when he was working on Má vlast, while Toman and the Wood Nymph is an evocative and tragic tale of supernatural romantic yearnings. The Tempest encapsulates Shakespeare’s story, and Spring depicts the season in all its variety.

      VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Click stars to rate:
      Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
      Fibich: Orchestral Works, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating

      You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.