what’s playing now

      Lisa Flynn's New Releases

      August 10, 2014

      Myroslav Skoryk: Carpathian Concerto for Orchestra (16:14)

      Odessa Philharmonic Orchestra / Hobart Earle

      Myroslav Skoryk is one of Ukraine’s leading composers, and these live recordings were made at his 75th birthday concerts in Odessa. Both the Cello Concerto and Violin Concerto No 7 combine lyricism with explosive dynamic contrasts. With its folk rhythms, the Carpathian Concerto is one of Skoryk’s most engaging and popular works. The Melody for strings propelled him to the forefront of Ukrainian music, while his transcription of Paganini’s Caprice No 19 reveals the composer’s sense of humor.

      VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Click stars to rate:
      Rating: 2.8/5 (9 votes cast)
      Music of Myroslav Skoryk, 2.8 out of 5 based on 9 ratings

      You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.