what’s playing now

      Lisa Flynn's New Releases

      June 15, 2014

      Beethoven: String Quartet No 1 in F major, Op 18 No 1 (transcribed by Hugo Ulrich & Robert Wittmann): I, Allegro con brio (9:47)

      Stephanie Ho & Saar Ahuvia, piano

      ‘Beethoven Dialogues’ contains three transcriptions of Beethoven’s Op 18 string quartets for piano four-hands. It’s fascinating to hear this material lifted out of its original context and instrumentation and placed onto a keyboard, and reveals much about the core strength and malleability of Beethoven’s writing. With the growth of the keyboard in the 19th century, transcriptions of prominent works became a popular way for music lovers to get to know the repertoire in the event they were not able to hear performances in their original instrumentations.

      VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Click stars to rate:
      Rating: 4.4/5 (21 votes cast)
      Beethoven Dialogues, 4.4 out of 5 based on 21 ratings

      You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.