what’s playing now

      Lisa Flynn's New Releases

      May 11, 2014

      Schubert: Piano Sonata in B-flat major, D 960 (36:29)

      Paul Lewis, piano

      British pianist Paul Lewis’s auspicious 2001 Harmonia Mundi debut release marked the beginning of his fascination with the music of Franz Schubert. Thirteen years later, now hailed as “the finest Schubert interpreter of his generation” (Gramophone), Lewis offers this two-disc collection, the final installment of his three-part Schubert series. The late works of Schubert hold a special place in Lewis’s heart. In a recent interview he said, “There is no precedent in his music for what the language becomes — that sense of austerity, sparseness, hopelessness, terror even! I think he suddenly had an acute awareness of his own mortality.”

      VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Click stars to rate:
      Rating: 4.5/5 (2 votes cast)
      Schubert: Late Piano Sonatas, 4.5 out of 5 based on 2 ratings

      You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.