what’s playing now

      Lisa Flynn's New Releases

      April 27, 2014

      Mendelssohn: String Quartet No 6 in F minor, Op 80 (25:04)

      Artemis Quartet

      The Berlin-based Artemis Quartet sheds new light on Mendelssohn with three works from three distinct periods in the composer’s career: his late adolescence, the year before he turned 30, and the final months of his short life, overshadowed by the death of his beloved sister. The quartets of Mendelssohn featured prominently in the Artemis Quartet’s performing schedule for 2012 and 2013. They appeared on programs with works by Beethoven and Schubert, but also – more unexpectedly – alongside arrangements of Bach by Astor Piazzolla and music by Alberto Ginastera.

      VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Click stars to rate:
      Rating: 4.0/5 (3 votes cast)
      Mendelssohn: Quartets, 4.0 out of 5 based on 3 ratings

      You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.