what’s playing now

      Lisa Flynn's New Releases

      April 13, 2014

      Mozart: Prelude & Fugue in D minor, K 405/4 (after JS Bach, BWV 877) (6:03)

      Berlin Academy of Ancient Music

      It has often been overlooked that, between Bach’s death (1750) and the triumphant revival of his St Matthew Passion by Mendelssohn in 1829, other composers had already investigated the ‘old master.’ Mozart was the most fervent among them. Thanks to the discoveries of his friend Baron van Swieten, he had the opportunity to explore the Well-Tempered Clavier and make the string arrangements from it featured on this new disc by the Berlin Academy of Ancient Music.

      VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Click stars to rate:
      Rating: 4.3/5 (4 votes cast)
      Mozart: Adagios & Fugues, 4.3 out of 5 based on 4 ratings

      You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.