what’s playing now

      Lisa Flynn's New Releases

      February 16, 2014

      Barber: String Quartet in B minor, Op 11 (19:38)

      Brodsky Quartet

      The Brodsky Quartet presents a program of works from the ‘New World’ that explores an American sound in the string quartet. The earliest piece on the disc is the ‘American’ String Quartet by Antonín Dvořák, the only non-American composer in the release. In the String Quartet by Samuel Barber, we hear an unashamedly romantic composer displaying a more European style. Far more distinctively American in idiom is the music of George Gershwin whose Lullaby was his first attempt at classical composition. The program is completed with short works by Copland and Brubeck.

      VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Click stars to rate:
      Rating: 4.5/5 (2 votes cast)
      New World Quartets, 4.5 out of 5 based on 2 ratings

      You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.