what’s playing now

      Lisa Flynn's New Releases

      February 16, 2014

      Handel: Harpsichord Suite No 2 in F major (9:35)

      Richard Egarr, harpsichord

      Today, Handel is best known for his many vocal masterpieces. However, during his lifetime, more copies of his keyboard works were in circulation than Bach’s or Scarlatti’s. A famed virtuoso and improviser, much of Handel’s harpsichord music was never written down. However, in 1720, not long after he had settled in England, a collection of eight ‘Great Suites’ was issued in London. Published by the composer himself, it includes works from both his Hamburg and English periods.

      VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Click stars to rate:
      Rating: 4.0/5 (2 votes cast)
      Handel: 8 ‘Great’ Suites, 4.0 out of 5 based on 2 ratings

      You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.