what’s playing now

      Lisa Flynn's New Releases

      January 12, 2014

      Beethoven: Cello Sonata No 3 in A major, Op 69 (26:59)

      Steven Isserlis, cello; Robert Levin, fortepiano

      Steven Isserlis and Robert Levin present a compendium of Beethoven’s complete works for cello and piano, including Beethoven’s arrangement of his Horn Sonata. The use of the fortepiano opens up a wealth of sonic possibilities for these works. The five Cello Sonatas span Beethoven’s compositional epochs and comprise the most important cycle of cello sonatas in the entire repertoire. Isserlis writes that the composer, “transforms himself from confident virtuoso to supreme master of classical form, and then beyond that to a mystic exploring strange new worlds of unearthly beauty – a wondrous transfiguration.”

      VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Click stars to rate:
      Rating: 3.7/5 (3 votes cast)
      Beethoven: Music for Cello & Piano, 3.7 out of 5 based on 3 ratings

      You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.