what’s playing now

      Lisa Flynn's New Releases

      December 22, 2013

      Bach: Toccata in F-sharp minor, BWV 910 (13:16)

      Andrew Rangell, piano

      The Six Partitas and Goldberg Variations are among the very few works which Bach undertook to publish during his lifetime, a significant indication of his regard for these creations — and his hopes for them. The Partitas, printed in 1731, is the last, and most diverse of Bach’s three vibrant sets of keyboard suites. In this first published opus, what Bach chose to show the world was what he most certainly regarded as his crowning achievement, to date, in suite form.

      VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Click stars to rate:
      Rating: 3.5/5 (2 votes cast)
      Bach: Keyboard Masterworks, 3.5 out of 5 based on 2 ratings

      You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.