what’s playing now

      Lisa Flynn's New Releases

      December 15, 2013

      Graupner: Orchestral Suite in F major (20:49)

      Finnish Baroque Orchestra / Sirkka-Liisa Kaakinen-Pilch

      Christoph Graupner’s (1683-1760) total surviving output comprises some 2,000 separate works, including ten operas, a hundred symphonies, a thousand cantatas, 85 orchestral suites and 44 concertos. A significant part of his orchestral output consists of concertos and suites with diverse, sometimes curious instruments in the solo ensembles. What is significant in Graupner’s music is his exceptional command of melody and harmony, which do not really resemble those of any of his contemporaries.

      VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Click stars to rate:
      Rating: 3.8/5 (4 votes cast)
      Graupner: Orchestral Suites, 3.8 out of 5 based on 4 ratings

      You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.