what’s playing now

      Lisa Flynn's New Releases

      December 1, 2013

      Prokofiev: L’enfant prodigue (The Prodigal Son), Op 46: Scene I (17:10)

      São Paulo Symphony Orchestra / Marin Alsop

      Prokofiev’s imposing Fourth Symphony and his final ballet for Sergei Diaghilev, The Prodigal Son, share common roots but are entirely distinctive in character.  The 1947 revision of the Fourth Symphony, lengthened and enriched in orchestration by the addition of a piccolo clarinet, piano and harp, makes extended use of themes from The Prodigal Son as well as unused material.

      VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Click stars to rate:
      Rating: 5.0/5 (2 votes cast)
      Music of Prokofiev, 5.0 out of 5 based on 2 ratings

      You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.