what’s playing now

      Lisa Flynn's New Releases

      November 3, 2013

      Vaughan Williams: Symphony No 7 (Sinfonia antartica): III, Landscape (10:19); IV, Intermezzo (5:45); V, Epilogue (8:36)

      London Philharmonic Orchestra & Choir / Bernard Haitink; Sheila Armstrong, soprano

      Ralph Vaughan Williams lived through two world wars and a time as turbulent as any in British history. Although his Fifth Symphony was largely composed during the Second World War, it includes some of his most tranquil music, its pastoral serenity set vividly against the backdrop of war-torn Europe. The Seventh Symphony, Sinfonia antartica, began life as Vaughan Williams’s score for the film Scott of the Antarctic, whose themes of human endeavor, stoicism and courage hugely moved and inspired the composer.

      VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Click stars to rate:
      Rating: 4.5/5 (4 votes cast)
      Vaughan Williams: Symphonies 5 & 7, 4.5 out of 5 based on 4 ratings

      You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.