what’s playing now

      Lisa Flynn's New Releases

      September 29, 2013

      Brahms: Violin Sonata No 3 in D minor, Op 108 (21:30)

      Stephen Boe, violin; Christopher Harding, piano

      The three sonatas for violin and piano left to us by Johannes Brahms are masterpieces, products in some measure of Brahms’ relentless self-criticism. He destroyed as many as four earlier works for this combination, leaving only a Scherzo in c minor as a slender hint as to what his earlier attempts might have sounded like. Stephen Boe is a familiar figure in the Chicago music scene. He has served as concertmaster for the Joffrey Ballet, Chicagoland Pops and Chicago Chamber Orchestra. He is currently on the faculty of the Music Institute of Chicago.

      VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Click stars to rate:
      Rating: 4.1/5 (7 votes cast)
      Brahms: The Violin Sonatas, 4.1 out of 5 based on 7 ratings

      You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.