what’s playing now

      Lisa Flynn's New Releases

      August 4, 2013

      Leclair: Violin Sonata in D major, Op 2, No 8 (10:41)

      Adrian Butterfield, violin; Jonathan Manson, viola da gamba; Laurence Cummings, harpsichord

      The joys of Jean-Marie Leclair’s Violin Sonatas, Op 2, published in 1728, five years after his first book of sonatas, can be found in the beauty of their melodic invention, and their expressive and surprising harmonies. Leclair takes us on unexpected journeys of landscape and scenery in his slow movements and excites with Italian energy and fire in the fast. Adrian Butterfield’s three Naxos volumes of Leclair’s Violin Sonatas, Op 1, were acclaimed as being “shaped by exquisite phrasing and studded with lovely Italianate ornamentation…so much to savour.” (Gramophone)

      VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Click stars to rate:
      Rating: 4.7/5 (3 votes cast)
      Leclair: Violin Sonatas, 4.7 out of 5 based on 3 ratings

      You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.