what’s playing now

      Lisa Flynn's New Releases

      August 4, 2013

      Higdon: Sky Quartet (21:41)

      Serafin String Quartet

      Pulitzer winner Jennifer Higdon is one of the most performed living American composers, and this program provides a unique opportunity to hear first recordings of her earlier chamber music. The String Trio was written while Higdon was a developing young composer, and the influences of Prokofiev and Copland can be heard in the Sonata for Viola and Piano. The beauty and immensity of the Western sky was the inspiration for ‘Sky Quartet,’ while ‘Dark Wood’ explores the soulful and virtuoso character of the bassoon.

      VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Click stars to rate:
      Rating: 4.3/5 (3 votes cast)
      Higdon: Early Chamber Works, 4.3 out of 5 based on 3 ratings

      You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

      • Marc Temkin

        You can appreciate that Higdon has a lot of skill in writing instrumental music from these recordings. I was confused about the alternating styles within the quartet. It’s as if she was trying to cover both “dogmas” in the conservatory. It is unfortunate that composers, performers are exempt from this, have to write for both their peers and an audience. Of course we know that dogmas die hard, only to be replaced by new ones!

        VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
        Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
        VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
        Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)