what’s playing now

      Lisa Flynn's New Releases

      July 28, 2013

      Vivaldi: Bassoon Concerto in E minor, R 484 (10:08)

      Nadina Mackie Jackson, bassoon; Ensemble / Nicholas McGegan

      For this, the first in a series of five discs of Vivaldi ’s bassoon concertos, Nadina Mackie Jackson has selected eight works in nearly as many keys. With the invaluable scholarship of Nicholas McGegan, she created her own performing editions directly from the Turin manuscripts. They are all in the familiar three-movement fast-slow-fast configuration, but show an amazing variety of compositional style and musical affect.

      VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Click stars to rate:
      Rating: 4.8/5 (5 votes cast)
      Vivaldi: Bassoon Concertos, 4.8 out of 5 based on 5 ratings

      You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.