what’s playing now

      Lisa Flynn's New Releases

      July 21, 2013

      Kalabis: Violin Concerto No 2, Op 49 (15:15)

      Josef Suk, violin; Czech Philharmonic Orchestra / Wolfgang Sawallisch

      To mark the 90th anniversary of the birth of Viktor Kalabis, one of the most distinguished 20th-century Czech composers, Supraphon is releasing this special selection of his symphonies and concertos. Kalabis’s works enjoyed the attention of renowned orchestras, conductors and soloists. This new collection of recordings bears witness to a superlative composer, as well as the dark atmosphere of the time during which his music came to life.

      VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Click stars to rate:
      Rating: 3.5/5 (4 votes cast)
      Kalabis: Symphonies & Concertos, 3.5 out of 5 based on 4 ratings

      You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.