what’s playing now

      Lisa Flynn's New Releases

      July 14, 2013

      Dubois: Concerto-capriccioso in C minor (16:18)

      Cédric Tiberghien, piano; BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra / Andrew Manze

      French pianist Cédric Tiberghien joins the impressive roster of pianists who have contributed to Hyperion’s “Romantic Piano Concerto” series with Volume 60: Théodore Dubois. Three works by this French composer are included here, and they present a captivating panorama of the evolution of Dubois’ style over some forty years: the Concerto-capriccioso seems like a preliminary study in the style of Weber and Mendelssohn, whereas the Concerto in F minor is reminiscent of Saint-Saëns. The completely unknown Suite for piano and strings resembles a neoclassical pastiche.

      VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Click stars to rate:
      Rating: 3.5/5 (4 votes cast)
      The Romantic Piano Concerto, Vol 60, 3.5 out of 5 based on 4 ratings

      You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.