what’s playing now

      Lisa Flynn's New Releases

      June 23, 2013

      Casella: Italia, Op 11 (19:39)

      BBC Philharmonic / Gianandrea Noseda

      This is the third volume in Chandos’ survey of orchestral works by Alfredo Casella, which forms part of the ongoing Italian Music series with the BBC Philharmonic and Gianandrea Noseda. Casella was a fervent Italian patriot, as his Symphonic Rhapsody Italia so aptly demonstrates. In this one-movement work, the composer focuses on just two contrasting destinations in Italy: Sicily – impoverished, sun scorched, and superstitious – and Naples – bustling and carefree.

      VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Click stars to rate:
      Rating: 4.3/5 (3 votes cast)
      Casella: Orchestral Music, 4.3 out of 5 based on 3 ratings

      You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.