what’s playing now

      Lisa Flynn's New Releases

      May 19, 2013

      Gál: Symphony No 2 in F, Op 53: I, Introduction (Andante – Adagio) (7:44); II, Allegro energico – Molto moderato (8:21)

      Orchestra of the Swan / Kenneth Woods

      The first two volumes of this intriguing series, featuring the four symphonies of Hans Gál and Robert Schumann, have shed new light on these often misunderstood composers and won wide critical acclaim. Volume 3 pairs Gál’s lyrical and deeply moving Second Symphony, written in the aftermath of family tragedy, with Schumann’s groundbreaking Fourth, which Gál described as the composer’s ‘most ingenious experiment in form.’

      VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Click stars to rate:
      Rating: 4.6/5 (5 votes cast)
      Gál: Symphony No 2, 4.6 out of 5 based on 5 ratings

      You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.