what’s playing now

      Lisa Flynn's New Releases

      May 5, 2013

      Moeran: Lonely Waters (8:01); Whythorne’s Shadow (5:01)

      Ulster Orchestra / JoAnn Falletta

      The Cello Concerto is one of Anglo-Irish composer E. J. Moeran’s most important works. Composed in 1945, its deft scoring and melodic material mark it as a work of his maturity. At its heart is the lyrical slow movement, but the whole concerto reflects the singing qualities of the solo instrument. The Serenade is heard in the 1996 edition of the original 1948 version with eight movements. Lonely Waters is a brief but evocative orchestral rhapsody, and Whythorne’s Shadow a touching fantasy based on an Elizabethan madrigal.

      VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Click stars to rate:
      Rating: 4.3/5 (3 votes cast)
      Music of E.J. Moeran, 4.3 out of 5 based on 3 ratings

      You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.