what’s playing now

      Lisa Flynn's New Releases

      March 24, 2013

      Shostakovich: String Quartet #10 in A-flat major, Op 118 (24:52)

      Pacifica Quartet

      The Pacifica Quartet is back with the highly anticipated third installment of their acclaimed “Soviet Experience” series. This release focuses on Shostakovich’s string quartets of the 1960s, Nos. 9-12. Ranging from a balanced neoclassical form to an unpredictable riot of tonal and atonal themes, these quartets rank among the finest of Shostakovich’s later works. The String Quartet No. 6 of Mieczyslaw Weinberg, Shostakovich’s friend and colleague, provides another vantage point to view this period in Soviet history.

      VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Click stars to rate:
      Rating: 5.0/5 (3 votes cast)
      The Soviet Experience, Volume 3, 5.0 out of 5 based on 3 ratings

      You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.