what’s playing now

      Lisa Flynn's New Releases

      March 10, 2013

      Bernstein, arr Marice Stith: On the Town: Three Dance Episodes (10:24)

      University of South Carolina Wind Ensemble / Scott Weiss

      The sheer variety of Leonard Bernstein’s music is showcased on this wide-ranging disc, consisting largely of transcriptions. Bernstein’s immersion in theatrical music is reflected in Clare Grundman’s arrangement of the Candide suite. His film score for On the Waterfront is presented in its symphonic suite form in Jay Bocock’s transcription. The nostalgia of the Divertimento, written for the centenary of the Boston Symphony Orchestra, is richly brought out in this adaptation. All performances are by the award-winning University of South Carolina Wind Ensemble.

      VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Click stars to rate:
      Rating: 4.4/5 (8 votes cast)
      Bernstein: Transcriptions for Wind Band, 4.4 out of 5 based on 8 ratings

      You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.