what’s playing now

      Lisa Flynn's New Releases

      January 20, 2013

      Szymanowski: Symphony #4, Op 60, Symphonie concertante (25:15)

      Louis Lortie, piano; BBC Symphony Orchestra / Edward Gardner

      For much of his life, and for several decades after his death, the music of the Polish composer Karol Szymanowski remained unknown to most concert-goers outside Poland. A revival began in the 1970s, and this new series by the BBC Symphony Orchestra and Edward Gardner brings a welcome opportunity to re-engage with a composer whose ‘outsider’ status still seems to haunt him.

      VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Click stars to rate:
      Rating: 4.5/5 (2 votes cast)
      Szymanowski: Symphonies 2 & 4, 4.5 out of 5 based on 2 ratings

      You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.