what’s playing now

      Lisa Flynn's New Releases

      January 20, 2013

      Fanny Mendelssohn: String Quartet in E-flat major (20:31)

      Ébène Quartet

      In a characteristically imaginative stroke of programming, the Ébène Quartet presents a total of three quartets by two Mendelssohns – Felix and his older sister, Fanny. She produced a canon of well over 400 pieces – although only one string quartet. By contrast, Felix composed seven works in the genre. This disc features the A minor quartet of 1827, very much under the influence of Beethoven, and the F minor quartet of 20 years later, expressive of the grief he felt at Fanny’s death in 1847.

      VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Click stars to rate:
      Rating: 4.8/5 (4 votes cast)
      Felix & Fanny Mendelssohn: Quartets, 4.8 out of 5 based on 4 ratings

      You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

      • Barb

        Outstanding! Fanny finally gets some of the credit she deserves.

        VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
        Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
        VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
        Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)