what’s playing now

      Lisa Flynn's New Releases

      November 18, 2012

      Salonen: Violin Concerto: IV, Adieu (12:02)

      Leila Josefowicz, violin; Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra / Esa-Pekka Salonen

      Salonen’s Violin Concerto was written for American violinist Leila Josefowicz. It has already been performed in major musical centers including London, Berlin, Boston, San Francisco and Los Angeles. “A fascinating hybrid of European modernist rigor and polyglot Californian cool,” wrote the Boston Globe. The concerto is coupled with Nyx (2011), a piece for orchestra that paints a musical portrait of the shadowy Greek goddess.

      VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Click stars to rate:
      Rating: 2.5/5 (4 votes cast)
      Out of Nowhere: Music of Esa-Pekka Salonen, 2.5 out of 5 based on 4 ratings

      You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.