Program Archives

June 2012
« May   Jul »

More Archives


LIVE: Ryan Jannak-Huang, 14, piano

Ryan Jannak-Huang was a finalist of the 2012 Crain-Mailing Chicago Symphony Orchestra Youth Audition.

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Ryan Jannak-Huang, 14, is a scholarship recipient and member of the Music Institute of Chicago’s Academy program. He has studied piano with Brenda Huang for 9 years. He was the second place winner in the 2012 MTNA National Piano Competition and a finalist in the 2012 Crain-Maling Foundation Chicago Symphony Orchestra Youth Auditions. He won the first prize at the Awards competition in 2010.

He was also the winner of the 2010 Virginia Geyser Behrendt Piano Solo Scholarship and The Amei Hu Lin Scholarship Duet Competition with cellist Johannes Gray. Ryan was awarded the first place at the Society of American Musicians Competition for the Primary and Junior divisions. Ryan has also won the first place at the Confucius Music Festival in all piano divisions: Youth, Junior I, Junior II and Senior. He performed in the Young Steinway Concert Series at Skokie Library in 2011. Ryan played with the Oistrach Symphony Orchestra as a selected winner in the Fifth Annual DePaul Concerto Festival for Young Performers. He also played with the Academy Strings of the Music Institute of Chicago as a soloist. For fun, Ryan likes to play piano duet and tennis with his twin brother, Kyle. He also likes paintball and snowboards.


Bach: Prelude and Fugue in G minor, (WTC, Book II, no.16), BWV 885
Liszt: Transcendental Étude No. 5 in B-flat Major “Feux follets”
Scriabin: Sonata No.4 in F sharp Major Op. 30
Ravel: Gaspard de la Nuit
III. Scarbo
Balakirev: Islamey Fantasy (Oriental Fantasy), Op.18

  • Andrew Guo

    Amazing performance Ryan!
    The islamey was incredible!

  • Roger Shen

    Congrats on playing such a trying and beautiful performance as well as your many achievements in your musical campaign.

Comments are moderated and will appear within 24 hours.